• Home
  • Morehouse College is named HBCU Institutional Leader By Fulbright Program

Morehouse College is named HBCU Institutional Leader By Fulbright Program

ATLANTA — Morehouse College is proud to be named a Fulbright Historically Black College and University (HBCU) Institutional Leader for the 2019-2020 academic year. Fulbright HBCU Institutional Leader status has been conferred on 20 HBCUs, including Morehouse College, because they have demonstrated noteworthy support for Fulbright exchange participants during the 2019-2020 academic year and have promoted Fulbright program opportunities on campus.

“Participation in the Fulbright program has been a longstanding tradition for students and faculty at Morehouse College to achieve global experiences in scholarship, leadership and service,” said Dr. Leah Creque, English professor and Howard Thurman Honors Program director. “This designation underscores the College's vision and commitment to transform young men into capable and responsible leaders who embrace their identity as citizens of the world.”

This is the second consecutive year the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA) is recognizing the noteworthy engagement that selected HBCUs have achieved with the Fulbright Program, the U.S. government's flagship international educational exchange program.

As the home to 11 U.S. Fulbright Scholars and host of one Fulbright Visiting Scholar, Morehouse College is one of the nation’s top producers of Fulbright Scholars among colleges and universities in 2019-2020, according to the ECA. Recent Fulbrighters include assistant professor Aaron Carter-Enyi, who was named to the 2019-2020 class of the Fulbright Scholar Program for a music theory project about vocal arts in southeastern Nigeria; recently retired sociology professor Dr. Ida Mukenge visited Africa for a research trip; and 2019 co-valedictorian Jonathan Epps traveled to Brazil to teach English as part of the 2020 Fulbright U.S. Student program.

The ECA established the HBCU Institutional Leader designation in 2019 to recognize the strong partnerships between the Fulbright Program and HBCUs, and to encourage the entire network of HBCUs to increase its engagement with Fulbright. This initiative is part of the U.S. Department of State’s long-standing commitment to build diversity and inclusion within the Fulbright Program and within all of the Bureau’s international exchange programs.

Acting Assistant Secretary of State for the ECA Matthew Lussenhop praised the designated institutions, stating, “Congratulations to this year’s 20 Fulbright Historically Black College and University Institutional Leaders. We salute you and your institutions for your engagement with the Fulbright Program, and for your commitment to providing life-changing opportunities to students, faculty, and administrators. HBCU participation is critical to fully representing the diversity of the United States through the Fulbright Program. Fulbrighters from HBCUs carry their identities and school pride with them abroad, allowing people from other countries to learn about these accomplished individuals and about this dynamic group of American institutions and their distinguished legacy. Foreign Fulbrighters hosted by an HBCU return home with new knowledge, an appreciation of the United States, and a broadened perspective on America.”

2021 marks the 75th Anniversary of the Fulbright Program. Celebrations throughout the year will highlight the impressive accomplishments and legacy of the program and its alumni over its first 75 years, both in the United States and around the world. A dedicated 75th-anniversary website (fulbright75.org) will be updated throughout 2021 to showcase Fulbright alumni, partner countries, and anniversary events.

For further information about the Fulbright Program or the U.S. Department of State, please visit http://eca.state.gov/fulbright or contact the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Press Office by e-mail ECA-Press@state.gov.